top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBooklovelife

The Lingering - The Review


The Lingering by SJI Holliday



Most of the way through this book I was thinking; it’s really good but I’m not really finding it to be ‘scary’, ‘creepy’ or ‘terrifying’.

That was until I finished it.


As soon as I turned the last page and put the book down, every little noise scared the hell out of me! Granted, I finished it just before midnight so it was dark and late, but honestly, I’ve never felt scared walking round my own house before. I could hear dripping, banging, creaking. You name it, it made me jump or at the very least, made me nervous. I quickly fed the cat, ran upstairs and got myself ready for bed, glad to be safe in my own bed all cuddled up in the covers.


I’m thirty years old and yes, a ghost story scared me. Haha.


I wasn’t expecting the ending. It was intense. I read the last quarter of the book very quickly because I wanted to know what had happened to Jack & Ali. What had happened to make them go to Rosalind House in the first place?


We know straight away that Jack has done something wrong and Ali decides that starting a new life is the way to solve their problems... what we don’t know is what exactly he has done wrong & how Ali was involved.


Most of the characters are kind of fleeting. Their names easily forgotten. They play a small part in the story but the main event is based on Ali, Jack and a lady called Angela (or Fairy Angela as she is known).


Something big happens that involves Angela and once that happens, the whole story starts to unfold and the book becomes glued to your hands. You can’t put it down. You just have to know what’s going to happen next.


I recommend reading this book, but if you live alone, maybe read it through the day rather than in the evening/midnight!!


I rated this book 4/5 stars on Goodreads and I would happily pick up another book by the same author.

If you like a good Ghost story/Thriller, definitely give this one a go.


I know they say you shouldn’t judge a book by its cover but with this book you should definitely make an exception. I have put a picture of the book in this post. Just take a second to appreciate how gorgeous the cover is...









12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page